on fear and doing it anyway

1267782_10151612464640658_2106692735_o

“I have accepted fear as part of life- specifically the fear of change… I have gone ahead despite the pounding in the heart that says: turn back.”- Erica Jong

It’s amazing, the amount of time you can spend prepping and tending to a blog layout (fixing and fussing and then fixing some more.) You can obsess with its appearance as long as you want, but in order to actually have a blog, you eventually have to write. Share. Post.

In 2005, I discovered the art of blogging for the first time. I was so intrigued by the concept that people could share their innermost thoughts and feelings and have them heard literally anywhere in the world. I had three different blogs over the years that consisted of a myriad of riveting topics such as schoolwork, summer jobs, girls’ nights recaps and photos that I thought were artistic. My first URL had an underscore and an X at the end of it, so I’ll just let that speak for itself.

I’ll be honest that in all my years of blogging, I never felt nervous to hit the “publish” button. Probably because my readership consisted of my tiny circle of bffs who know that golden rule: “if you can’t say anything nice…” (Just kidding, they were obligated to be supportive because they knew even constructive criticism would probably result in an emotional breakdown.)

Those days are long gone and I’ve done some serious growing in the last 9 (9?!) years. This year in particular has been an equally exciting and intimidating year as I’ve ventured into a lot of changes and unknowns. I get the sneaking suspicion that some of the biggest changes and unknowns have yet to unfold. It’s scary and uncomfortable. But I’m learning that a meaningful life ultimately brings a lot more fear with it. I’m learning to carry on in spite of my pounding heart and stomach full of butterflies.

This blog is my effort to do something I’ve always dreamed of doing- publicly sharing words, images, sounds, things I’m creating. I haven’t had a blog for almost two years, but hopefully it won’t take me long to get my groove back. I can’t make any guarantees as to what kind of content you’ll see popping up here or the frequency of posts (planning wasn’t my forte with my other blogs, either) but you can definitely count on thoughts and musings re: music, books, photos, videos, and faith. And breakfast foods. (You can also definitely count on not seeing make up tutorials, healthy recipes or tips for home design.)

If you’ve taken the time to read this today, thank you. I believe in community- we need each other to do these things, friends! I’m pretty nervous to click that “publish” button, but I’m gonna stick with this year’s theme and do it anyway. 

xo

(Photo: Jess Buckle)

16 thoughts on “on fear and doing it anyway

  1. josiemterrell says:

    Robyn, I’m so happy to see you’re blogging 🙂 I, too, and getting ready to step into the blogging world, and I’m excited. Loved your words, “I believe in community – we need each other…” and I couldn’t agree more. That is probably my greatest motivation or using the blogging medium. Good luck with this new venture 🙂

    • robynmch says:

      Josie! Thank you so much for your sweet comment! We’re all in this together, right?! I’ll be following along with your blogging venture too, I’m excited to see what you’ll share! Hope you are doing well. 🙂

  2. Brandi S. says:

    “Do it anyway” I like that. Maybe I can try to adopt your theme this year in tackling my own fear.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts, Robyn. All the best.

    • robynmch says:

      Thank you so much, Brandi! Your comment means a lot. I’m definitely learning to reroute my anxiety about life, haha. I hope you’re doing well, I’ve thought about you guys a lot over the last few weeks. ❤ Take care!

    • robynmch says:

      Thanks, Leanne! Your support throughout the years of our friendship has always meant so much to me. Love ya, girl! xo

  3. cdean says:

    So glad you’re back! I’ve always valued your posts, even when they were simply girls’ night recaps. You have a way of writing like you’re whispering inside jokes to your best friend, and welcoming the reader right into that circle of trust. It’s wonderful to hear your voice again.

    Love from KC,

    Caitlin

    • robynmch says:

      Thank you so much, Caitlin! I’ve always felt like I knew you IRL because of your writing. I love that we’ve had this blogging friendship that started out through Xanga. I can’t believe how long ago that feels!! When Google took away Google Reader, I foolishly didn’t transfer all my blogs somewhere else, so I lost touch with most of the blogs I followed. Glad I can re-follow you again! ❤

    • robynmch says:

      That makes two of us. (Thanks for commenting on this, you are practically a celeb now that you have been on tv!)

Leave a Reply

