kindred spirits

IMG_6381

I will begin with this: I have arrived in California. It’s hotter than I ever thought hot could be. I’m still adjusting to the time difference, but I have never felt so at home in a new place so fast.

There’s lots to share, and I can’t wait to have the chance to share it all. But first, some photos leading up to my departure.

IMG_6421

Emily and I met in my third year of university. We became friends almost instantly, and since then, we’ve spent our friendship exchanging “me too!” and ” I KNOW”s.

IMG_6494

Since graduating, our time together has been sparse. I moved away from Newfoundland, and then back to Newfoundland, and Emily has been working for Disney Cruise Line, which has led her all over the world.

IMG_6496

Being able to line up a 24-hour visit with her in St. John’s before I left was an absolute blessing and I cherish that time together so much. I have often thought about the book Anne of Green Gables, and the way Anne speaks about kindred spirits.

“A bosom friend–an intimate friend, you know–a really kindred spirit to whom I can confide my inmost soul.”

That describes my friendship with Emily.

IMG_6440

When you’re the kind of person who constantly wonders if you’re secretly crazy, the best gift anyone can give you is the gift of “I get it and I get you”.

IMG_6499-2

Who knows when we’ll see each other again. (Hopefully in August on my return to NL!)

But like Anne also said:

“True friends are always together in spirit.”

IMG_6481

2 thoughts on “kindred spirits

  1. cdean says:

    Brings to mind two of my favorite C.S. Lewis quotes:

    ‘‘Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: “What! You too? I thought I was the only one.”‘

    ‘What draws people to be friends is that they see the same truth. They share it.’

    Also. I love her outfit. I’m probably going to copy it. Sorry, not sorry.

    • robynmch says:

      Ohhh girl, that is good. YES.

      (Also, I feel like that quote describes us too. Is it weird for me to say I miss you? Because I do!)

      And Emily has the best style, I’ve been copying her since we met so I say go for it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

