on significance | Biola #2

IMG_7916
Things have been pretty quiet here on the blog for the past month. I can assure you it’s not due to a shortage of things happening. I can also assure you it’s been anything but quiet in my head.

In the wake of any significant event in my life, I can never seem to find the words that will transfer what I’m feeling from my head and heart onto paper (slash screen). Believe me, I have tried them out but they don’t feel quite right yet. Maybe they’ll never feel quite right.

Is it possible for something to be too significant for words?

Biola was an experience that moved me deeply. There are some stories that maybe sometime I’ll be able to write. Some of them I’ll share enthusiastically with friends and family over coffee, and some I’ll treasure in my own heart forever.

As much as I desperately want to find a way to share how I felt during my time in Biola, I think I can narrow much of it down to this:

The love I feel for these precious children is only a fraction of the love God has for all of His children. The way I see them is just a tiny glimmer of what God sees when He looks at all of us.

Every hug and interaction and moment of eye contact was an opportunity to show them how much they are loved, by God and by us.

I will never again underestimate the power of calling a child by name, of simply being available to them and reminding them how much they matter. I can tell you that a sense of significance changes lives, because we watched children leave as totally new children at the end of our three weeks together. That is the most incredible thing to witness and be a part of.

I clearly had just as much to learn in Biola as the kids did.

It’s hard to believe I’m back in rainy Corner Brook again already. I know I’ll continue to process everything in the days to come, but I’m already deeming this experience one of the richest I’ve ever had.

To Licia, to Geoff and Jill and Jean and Allie and Aubrey- thank you, I love you guys.

To every person who gave, prayed, supported me and Full Sail, and followed along with this journey, thank you. For being a part of something so rich and beautiful and most definitely significant.

“And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.”

Ephesians 3:17-19

IMG_8892

This beautiful California state necklace (with the heart close to Biola <3) came from here. 

Photo cred: Emily Ralph

4 thoughts on “on significance | Biola #2

Leave a Reply

