2014 in review

photo-8

The task of recapping an entire year’s worth of events always feels like an arduous one to me. I mean, who gets to the end of December and says “well, nothing noteworthy really happened this year”?

Because you know what “they” say:

A lot can happen in a year.

A lot has happened this year. And because I believe reflection is important and necessary (albeit time-consuming), herein lies a reflective post of the events of 2014.

(Is this thing on?)

In 2014, I got a little more serious about something I love. I took a leap of faith and was totally blown away by the generosity of my community, who funded my entire missions trip to California. I fell in love with some truly incredible kids in the little town of Biola, kids I miss like crazy and still pray for.

I met a very dear friend I’d kept in touch with over the internet since 2005 in real life. Someone I only spent a mere couple of hours with, but who looked right into my heartI took part in some pretty amazing weddings– both behind my camera, and standing next to one of my childhood best friends. I experienced more Newfoundland splendour. I got visits and hugs from friends and family I hadn’t seen in way too long.

I saw some of the people I love go through some really difficult things, and how they handled them with grace and trust. I also saw some of the people I love go through some really big life changes, some really beautiful and joyous things.

I started this little blog space that has allowed me to connect to people in much bigger ways than I ever thought possible.

I have learned so much. And that’s just the highlight reel.

Like any year, 2014 was filled with its share of struggles and challenges. I have lost count of the number of times I have begged God to tell me why He was closing a door instead of letting me waltz through it like I’d so carefully planned and hoped for.

Oh man, am I glad He closed some of those doors and opened ones I couldn’t have dreamed of finding myself in front of. Am I glad God and I can laugh together about those “plans” of mine.

On this last day of December, I find myself filled with so much hope for 2015 and with so much fondness for 2014. For every hard lesson learned, for cups and cups of coffee and the conversations that happened over them, for music that spoke to me, for every new experience and place that changed me.

I’m reflecting on how I have been gifted with the very specific cast of characters in my life this year, and how each physical season and life season has brought about reasons to be thankful for that.

I’m dreaming about the risks I’ll choose to take in the coming year, about closed doors and open doors and the process of knowing when to keep knocking, when to waltz and when to walk away. How I’ll continue that process in the months and even years to come, but each time a little older, hopefully a little wiser, and maybe with a little more humour and a lot more grace.

Yes, a lot can and will happen in a year, and I can’t wait to see how 2015 will fill the very big shoes of 2014.

Happy New Year, lovelies, may this year be our biggest and brightest one yet.

xo

6 thoughts on “2014 in review

    • robynmch says:

      I so appreciate you reading it! 🙂 I’m glad we had a visit in 2014, but definitely hoping for more than one in 2015! Happy New Year!

  1. liciakclark says:

    Meeting and working alongside you, Robyn has been one of my highlights this year. Thank you for being an answer to prayer. (“The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.” – Matt 9:36-38) I have shown your video “To Biola with Love” every chance I get. One group I shared it with was a group of widows and single older ladies. Their hearts were moved and they donated $500 to the kids. I’ve started a non-profit called Inspire One this year to be able to continue the work I’ve been doing in the community in Biola and the Valley – educating children in the creative arts while building cross-cultural and socioeconomic bridges for the glory of God. I would love to take with you more about it. Blessings! – Licia ________________________________________

    • robynmch says:

      Licia, it was my privilege to come to Biola and spend time with your babies! It makes my heart SO HAPPY to know that even more is being done for them- I would love to hear more about everything that’s been happening. Blessings to you and happy new year!! ❤

Leave a Reply

