Merry January

This Christmas was the first  since I was a young child that I have had a real Christmas tree. Dave and I decided we wanted the authentic smell of Christmas in our apartment, and I have been appreciating it every single day that tree has been here.

It no longer has the same fullness it arrived with, and it’s dried out so much a mere graze of a shoulder sends needles and branches plummeting to the floor. I told myself I would take it down today.  But when I got up this morning and performed my morning ritual of breakfast-coffee-turn Christmas tree lights on-admire tree,  I just couldn’t do it.

So I write this, basking in the glow of the white lights on our straggly tree for another day, a candle burning on the coffee table, sweatpants on. We may have returned to work yesterday after two glorious weeks off, but I’m still holding on tight to the holidays.

Our first Christmas together, both as a married couple and at all, was a whirlwind of family and friends, meals together, time at the cabin, and unfortunately a bad head cold that kept Dave home for three days. Ultimately, after so many days filled to the brim, we ended off 2015 in bed and asleep by 11:00pm.

I wouldn’t change it, and I’m also not so superstitious as to believe that how you spend 11:59 on December 31st will be any indication of the year to come.

I certainly couldn’t have predicted that  last New Year’s Eve- the one where I wouldn’t let Dave give me a kiss at midnight because we weren’t technically “in a relationship”- would launch us into the Very Best Year.

In the spirit of reflection, 2015 truly was just that. The Very Best. God revealed, as He has time and time again, that the Very Best is absolutely worth waiting for.

The way 2015 unfolded felt like the most natural and normal thing in the world, despite the huge changes and transitions. The peace and surety of God’s hand in all of it is overwhelming, it’s awesome and so difficult to put into words.

We spent the last year growing a life and seeking Jesus together, and it has been sprinkled with the love and support of our friends and families. 2015 felt permeated with the sparkle of Christmas magic, and we’ll treasure it for the rest of our days.

So because Christmas really should be a permanent season of the heart, who cares that it’s already January 5th. Merry Christmas, everybody.

And Merry January. May you continue to bask in the glow of your Christmas tree lights, guilt-free, until at least Old Christmas Day tomorrow. IMG_8424

One thought on “Merry January

Leave a Reply

